|Smart Farming
Smart Farming2016-10-19T16:43:35+00:00

Project Description

Smart Farming

Smart Farming is the logical continuation of Precision Farming. Precision Farming is an umbrella term for all farming measures which take into account small-scale differences like e.g. different soil types within one field. While the focus for Precision Farming was on the machinery to facilitate site-specific management, the focuse for Smart Farming is on information-guided plant production.

Satellite images provide overview, show patterns and allow estimation of in-field heterogeneity. Thus, these images can support the farmer in his decision making process.

By using satellite data, a field-specific crop vigor analysis can be done to derive a site characterization. This allows an estimation of the possible economic benefits of future application of precision farming techniques.

Parameters which can‘t be directly observed with remotely sensed data like dry biomass and grain yield are modeled by TalkingFields using a crop growth model which uses remotely sensed data as up-to-date spatial input.

Yield modeling gives an early overview over the canopy development within fields and results in a realistic prognosis of the final yield.

In this area VISTA cooperates with FarmFacts (formerly known as Landdata Eurosoft). Detailed information about the joint projects can be found at TalkingFields.

Here, only a few examples for applications will be shown to give a first impression of the possibilities remote sensing has to offer for Smart Farming.

Planning of field trials on basis of long-term biomass potential

In the TF Base Map the long-term biomass potential of a field is determined via geo-statistical analysis of multi-year satellite data. This potential mainly depends on the site characteristics such as the water holding capacity of the soil. Even though it cannot make any direct statement about the reasons for the heterogeneity within the field the TF Base Map serves as a practical basis for a closer analysis of the parcel, e.g. via GPS-based soil probing.

Similarly, the TF Base Map can be used for the directed placement of experimental strips for iterative field trials. Owing to such a trial set-up the initial conditions are no longer distributed randomly but equally among the experimental strips, thus preventing the misinterpretation of differences in the yield achieved on the strips.

Satellite data instead of sensor on tractor

Common tractor sensors used for nitrogen fertilization and plant protection measures rely on the same measuring principle as satellite imagery, i.e. the reflexion of the crops in the Visible and Near-Infrared segment of the electromagnetic spectrum as an indicator for the nutrient supply and overall biomass of the crops.

Consequently, the same or similar methods can also be applied from space. In doing so the advantage is that no additional calibration runs or areas in the field with no measures are required. Via coupling with a crop growth model it is possible to both retrieve the absolute dry biomass from satellite data and provide information even on cloudy days.

Cultivation using the map-overlay technique

Various scientific studies and field trials have shown that in site-specific nitrogen fertilization the best results are achieved through a combination of the integration of long-term yield potential and present state of development and nutrient supply of the crops. This is called the “map-overlay technique”. Through the extraction of long-term biomass distribution patterns from archived satellite data and the calculation of the present state of the crops from both current satellite data and the crop growth model it is possible to build the map-overlay technique on a consistent, spatially comprehensive database via the methods available at VISTA/TalkingFields.

In field trials carried out in the TalkingFields project with winter wheat the map-overlay technique resulted in an excess profit of about 50 €/ha through an increase in yield and simultaneously a reduction of necessary fertilizer when compared to a homogenous or a purely sensor-based (GreenSeeker) nitrogen fertilization.

Startseite||Smart Farming
Smart Farming 2016-10-19T16:43:55+00:00

Project Description

Smart Farming

Smart Farming ist die logische Weiterentwicklung von Precision Farming. Unter diesem Überbegriff werden alle Bewirtschaftungsmethoden zusammengefasst, die kleinräumige Unterschiede wie z.B. Bodenarten innerhalb eines Schlags berücksichtigen. Während im Precision Farming der Fokus auf der Technik zur teilflächenspezifischen Ausbringung lag und liegt, ist die informationsgeleitete Pflanzenproduktion der Schwerpunkt des Smart Farmings.

Satellitenbilder verschaffen Übersicht, zeigen Muster und erlauben eine Abschätzung der Heterogenität im Feld. Daher können diese Bilder Landwirte in ihren Entscheidungsprozessen unterstützen.

Mit Satellitendaten kann eine Vitalitätsanalyse für jedes Feld durchgeführt werden, um das Potential des Standortes zu ermitteln. Dadurch wird eine Abschätzung der ökonomischen Vorteile zukünftiger teilflächenspezifischer Bearbeitung möglich.

Parameter, die nicht direkt vom Satelliten aus gesehen werden können, wie zum Beispiel die trockene Biomasse oder der Kornertrag, werden in TalkingFields mit einem Pflanzenwachstumsmodell modelliert, das die Fernerkundungsdaten als aktuellen, räumlichen Input verwendet.

Ertragsmodellierung gibt frühzeitig Übersicht über die Bestandesentwicklung und resultiert in einer realistischen Prognose für den endgültigen Ertrag.

In diesem Bereich arbeitet VISTA eng mit FarmFacts (vormals Landdata Eurosoft) zusammen. Genaue Informationen zu den gemeinsamen Produkten finden sich auf TalkingFields. Hier werden im Folgenden nur einige Anwendungsbeispiele vorgestellt, um einen ersten Eindruck von den Möglichkeiten der Erdbeobachtung in Bezug auf Smart Farming zu vermitteln.

Planung von Feldversuchen auf Grundlage des langjährigen Standortpotentials

In der TF Basiskarte wird durch die geostatistische Auswertung von mehrjährigen Satellitendaten das langjährige Biomassepotential eines Schlags erfasst. Dieses hängt hauptsächlich von den Standorteigenschaften wie etwa der Wasserhaltefähigkeit des Bodens ab. Obwohl die TF Basiskarte keine Aussagen über die Ursachen der Heterogenität im Bestand liefern kann, bietet sie eine geeignete Grundlage für die nähere Untersuchung des Schlages zum Beispiel durch GPS-basierte Bodenbeprobung.

Ebenfalls kann die TF Basiskarte für die gezielte Platzierung von Versuchsstreifen in Mehrfachwiederholung für Feldversuche verwendet werden. Durch diesen Versuchsaufbau sind die Ausgangsbedingungen nicht mehr zufällig verteilt sondern gleichmäßig und vermeiden daher Fehlinterpretationen von Unterschieden im Ertrag.

Satellitendaten statt Traktorsensor

Bekannte Traktorensensoren für Stickstoffdüngung und Pflanzenschutzmaßnahmen nutzen das gleiche Messprinzip wie Satellitenbilder – die Reflexion des Pflanzenbestandes im Sichtbaren und nahen Infrarot als Indikator für den Versorgungszustand sowie die Gesamtbiomasse des Bestandes.

Daher können die gleichen oder ähnliche Verfahren auch aus dem Weltraum angewendet werden. Der Vorteil hierbei ist, dass keine zusätzlichen Kalibrierfahrten oder Nullmaßnahmenbereiche im Feld nötig sind. Durch Kopplung mit einem Wachstumsmodell kann aus Satellitendaten sowohl die absolute trockene oberirdische Biomasse abgeleitet werden als auch Information auch an wolkenbedeckten Tagen geliefert werden.

Bearbeitung im Map-Overlay-Verfahren

In verschiedenen wissenschaftlichen Studien und praktischen Versuchen hat sich gezeigt, dass in der teilflächenspezifischen Stickstoffdüngung eine Kombination aus der Integration von langfristigem Ertragspotential und aktuellem Entwicklungsstand und Versorgungszustand des Bestandes die besten Ergebnisse bringt. Man nennt dies das Map-Overlay-Verfahren. Durch die Extraktion langjähriger Biomassemuster aus Archivdaten sowie die Berechnung des aktuellen Bestandeszustands mit Hilfe diesjähriger Satellitendaten sowie des Wachstumsmodells, ist es mit den Methoden von VISTA/TalkingFields möglich, das Map-Overlay-Verfahren auf einer einheitlichen, flächendeckenden Datenquelle aufzubauen.

In Feldversuchen mit Winterweizen im Rahmen von TalkingFields brachte das Map-Overlay-Verfahren einen Gewinn von ca. 50 €/ha im Vergleich zur einheitlichen oder rein sensorbasierten (GreenSeeker) Stickstoffdüngung durch Ertragserhöhung bei gleichzeitiger Einsparung an Dünger.